Edition 2020

Awarded projects

Category 'iStandOut'

Smart Glasses 4 Telehealth to improve access to quality health care
Memisa (Belgium); Iristick (Belgium) 
Country involved: Democratic Republic of Congo
The Smart Glasses 4 Telehealth project was the best proven success story in the iStandOut category for the jury. This project introduces telemedicine with connected glasses in Kingandu (Kwilu, DR Congo) to improve access to quality healthcare. In rural areas, access to hospitals is often difficult. These glasses allow healthcare providers to remotely show an expert (the hospital doctor) exactly what they are seeing, talk to him or her and listen to the instructions without losing use of the hands or having to interrupt their activity. More frequent interaction with the doctor also strengthens the nurses' capacities.
Website: https://iristick.com/ ; https://memisa.be/en/ 

This winner receives a credit line of 10.000 euro to be used for (research)activities towards further development of the project.

Category 'iStartUp'

AKABOXITECH - Digital Financial Inclusion
Akaboxi Ltd (Uganda); Ondernemers voor Ondernemers (Belgium)
Country involved: Uganda
The AKABOXITECH project received the prize for the most promising innovative idea, in the iStartUp category. Developed by local entrepreneurs, this project provides a digital financial inclusion system for small farmers in Uganda, mainly women and young farmers in rural communities, so they can monitor and manage their savings together. The system replaces the rudimentary way of accounting, pooling their savings in boxes and keeping the savings boxes in the group leader's home, with a safer, more digital and simpler process to monitor and manage their savings.
Website: https://akaboxi.com/

This winner will get the opportunity to do an internship in a Belgian or international incubator to the value of 25.000 euro.

 

Category 'iChoose'

Bambanani – Joining hands to teach every child: Open Education Resources in South Africa
VVOB (Belgium)
Country involved: South Africa
The audience favorite in the iChoose category was Bambanani - Joining hands to teach every child, a project developing educational resources for inclusive education for children in South Africa. In 2001, South Africa launched a progressive inclusive education policy - an important step towards greater socio-economic equality. However, at present, few teachers know how to teach in an inclusive way. That is why VVOB developed the platform FundaOER.org. On this website, teachers will find a variety of open educational resources that can inspire them in their teaching practice. Teacher´s trainers or pedagogical counselors can find useful information here.
Website: https://www.vvob.org/en

This winner receives a cash prize of 5.000 euro.

 

Other nominated projects

Category 'iStandOut'

Training family farmers in their local language with video
Access Agriculture (Belgium)
Countries involved: Benin, Egypt, Kenya, Mali, Malawi, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Bolivia 
This project promotes agroecological principles and rural entrepreneurship through capacity development and South-South exchange of quality farmer-to-farmer training videos in local languages. Over 3,000 organisations in the Global South distribute and screen the videos through microSD cards, DVD series in multiple languages, USB sticks and the smart projector. The smart projector allows people to watch videos in their own language without electricity, mobile phone signal or even an internet connection. Since winning the iStandOut Prize D4D in 2018, Access Agriculture has been establishing a blossoming network of young rural entrepreneurs who screen videos and make videos available as part of their work with deprived communities
Website: https://www.accessagriculture.org/ 

DataToCare 
Savics (Belgium)
Countries involved:  Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Indonesia, Liberia, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Philippines, Central African Republic, Rwanda, Togo, Zambia
DataToCare is a software platform (consisting of mobile; desktop and web applications) that collects diagnostic, clinical, and operational data from remote laboratories and clinics, and transmits it in real-time to local, regional and national stakeholders, such as patients, health care providers and decision makers. DataToCare is currently installed in over 550 laboratories in 15 countries in Africa and Asia, covering the diagnostic tests of 250.000 patients.
DataToCare aims to improve disease surveillance, clinical data management, and individualized patient care by strengthening health care systems in developing countries through innovative technologies.
Website: https://savics.org/ 

NutriApp: Application from consumers to consumers for a better world
Consorcio Agroecológico Peruano (Perù); Eclosio (Belgium)
Country involved: Perù
NutriApp is a tool designed by civil society in Perù that empowered consumers by giving them access to information on the presence of high amounts of sugar, saturated fats, trans fats and sodium in ultra-processed products. At the end of the first semester after launch, an average reach of more than 100,000 people who knew and/or used the mobile application was obtained.
Website: http://consorcioagroecologico.pe/ ; https://www.eclosio.ong/ 

Category 'iStartUp'

First Aid Blended Learning (FABL)
Rode Kruis Vlaanderen (Belgium); Rwanda Red Cross Society (Rwanda)
Country involved: Rwanda
First Aid Blended Learning (FABL) wants to drastically scale up the number of First Aid responders in Sub-Saharan Africa. Compared to traditional First Aid courses, FABL is able to use the same resources to triple the number of First Aid trainings. Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen (RKV) has done this by translating its world-leading evidence-based First Aid materials into a user-friendly app which is linked an intuitive booking system and paired with a specially designed in-class training methodology.
Website: https://www.rodekruis.be/ 

 

Open Chain
Iles de Paix (Belgium); TRIAS (Belgium); Mviwata-Arusha (Tanzania)
Country involved: Tanzania
Open Chain is an open source platform where local insights on challenges (for example issues on value chain malpractices) are documented and accessible to everyone. It supports stakeholder consultation and networking activities to collect data on local issues or challenges and to spark new partnerships. In this way it provides necessary information to decision makers, and connects local stakeholders for a collective voice and action.
Website: https://www.ilesdepaix.org/ 


 

Category 'iChoose'

Financial inclusion for Ugandan farmers and entrepreneurs
Trias Uganda (Belgium, Uganda)
Country involved: Uganda
Trias partners with Microfinance Member-Based Organisations in the Northern and Western regions of Uganda to provide tailored financial services to their members. These financial providers (called Savings and Credit Cooperative Organisations, or SACCOs) offer a variety of specific loan products adapted to the realities of rural farming families and small-scale entrepreneurs. With this project mobile banking functionalities are now integrated. Family farmers and small-scale entrepreneurs can access their account balance, send money from their mobile phone to their SACCO account and withdraw from their SACCO account to their phone by just entering simple USSD codes. This contributes to the financial inclusion of rural communities.
Website: https://www.trias.ngo/en/  

ImpalaEdTech – Parakou 
Impalabridge (Belgium), Guerra Hub (Benin)
Country involved: Benin
ImpalaEdTech Parakou is a joint project of a Belgian non-profit organization (Impalabridge) and a “Digital Innovation Hub” (Guerra Hub) from Benin.
The objective is to offer training and support for:
- Beninese teachers to innovate and acquire the skills necessary for an effective use of ICT in their teaching practices,
- for young job seekers to pursue "Tech Educator" careers and entrepreneurship in the field of EdTech,
- for primary and secondary students to develop technological skills and acquire skills ensuring professional success in the 21st century (Creativity, Critical thinking, ...).
Website: https://impalabridge.com/ 

The winners of Prize D4D - Edition 2020 received their prizes from Minister of Development Cooperation, Meryame Kitir, on the recommendation of the jury, during the Awards Ceremony organized by the Royal Museum for Central Africa on October 15, 2020 (Belgium).

 

Programme

List of participants

Photos (©Kris Pannecoucke)

Édition 2020

Lauréats

Category 'iStandOut'

Smart Glasses 4 Telehealth to improve access to quality health care
Memisa (Belgique); Iristick (Belgique)
Pays concerné : République Démocratique du Congo
Le projet Smart Glasses 4 Telehealth a conquis le jury dans la catégorie iStandOut. Ce projet introduit la télémédecine avec lunettes connectées à Kingandu (Kwilu, RD Congo), afin d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé de qualité. En milieu rural, l’accès aux hôpitaux est souvent compliqué. Grâce à ces lunettes, le prestataire de soins du centre de santé peut montrer à l’expert à distance (le médecin de l’hôpital de référence) ce qu’il voit exactement, il peut parler et écouter les instructions sans perdre l’usage de ses mains et sans interrompre son activité. Grâce à une interaction plus fréquente avec le médecin, les capacités des infirmiers et infirmières sont également renforcées.
Website: https://iristick.com/fr/ ; https://memisa.be/fr

Ce lauréat reçoit une ligne de crédit de 10.000 euros à utiliser pour la poursuite des activités (de recherche) ou le développement du projet.

Category 'iStartUp'

AKABOXITECH - Digital Financial Inclusion
Akaboxi Ltd (Ouganda); Ondernemers voor Ondernemers (Belgique)
Pays concerné : Ouganda
Le prix de l’innovation la plus prometteuse est revenue au projet AKABOXITECH, dans la catégorie iStartUp. Développé par des entrepreneurs locaux, ce projet fournit un système numérique d'inclusion financière aux petits exploitants agricoles en Ouganda, en majorité des femmes et des jeunes agriculteurs des communautés rurales, afin qu'ils puissent suivre et gérer ensemble leur épargne. Le système remplace la méthode rudimentaire de comptabilité, qui consiste à rassembler leurs économies dans des boîtes et à garder la boîte d'épargne au domicile du chef de groupe, par un processus plus sûr, numérique et facile à suivre et à gérer.
Website: https://akaboxi.com/

Ce lauréat pourra effectuer un stage au sein d’un incubateur d’entreprises belge ou international pour un montant de 25.000 euros.

 

Category 'iChoose'

Bambanani – Joining hands to teach every child: Open Education Resources in South Africa
VVOB (Belgique)
Pays concerné : Afrique du Sud
Le favori du public dans la catégorie iChoose a été Bambanani - Joining hands to teach every child, un projet qui développe des ressources pour l’éducation inclusive des enfants en Afrique du Sud. En 2001, l'Afrique du Sud - un pays marqué par de grandes disparités socio-économiques - a adopté une politique progressive d'éducation inclusive. À l'heure actuelle, cependant, peu d'enseignants savent comment enseigner de manière inclusive. Pour inspirer les enseignants du primaire sud-africains et présenter les meilleures pratiques, VVOB a créé FundaOER.org, une plateforme en ligne fournissant du matériel d'enseignement et d'apprentissage en libre accès destiné aux formateurs d'enseignants et aux éducateurs.
Website: https://www.vvob.org/en

Ce lauréat reçoit la somme de 5.000 euros.

 

Autres projets nominés

Category 'iStandOut'

Training family farmers in their local language with video
Access Agriculture (Belgique)
Pays concernés : Bénin, Egypte, Kenya, Mali, Malawi, Rwanda, Sénégal, Tanzanie, Ouganda, Zambie, Bangladesh, Inde, Népal, Bolivie
Ce projet promeut les principes agroécologiques et l’entrepreneuriat rural à travers le renforcement des capacités et l’échange Sud-Sud de vidéos de formation (d’agriculteur à agriculteur) de qualité en langues locales.
Plus de 3.000 organisations du Sud distribuent et diffusent les vidéos à partir de cartes microSD, des séries de DVD en plusieurs langues, de clés USB et du projecteur intelligent. Ce dernier permet aux agriculteurs de regarder des vidéos dans leur propre langue sans électricité, sans signal de téléphone portable ou même sans connexion Internet. Depuis qu'il a remporté le Prix D4D iStandOut en 2018, Access Agriculture a mis en place un réseau florissant de jeunes entrepreneurs ruraux qui projettent des vidéos et les mettent à la disposition des agriculteurs dans le cadre de leur travail avec les communautés défavorisées.
Website: https://www.accessagriculture.org/ 

DataToCare 
Savics (Belgique)
Pays concernés : Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Côte d'Ivoire, République Démocratique du Congo, Indonésie, Libéria, Mali, Maroc, Niger, Philippines, République Centrafricaine, Rwanda, Togo, Zambie
DataToCare est une plateforme digitale (composée d'applications mobiles, de bureau et web) qui collecte des données diagnostiques, cliniques et opérationnelles de laboratoires et cliniques reculés. Une fois collecté, les données sont transmises en temps réel aux acteurs locaux, régionaux et nationaux, tels que les patients, les prestataires de soins de santé et les décideurs. DataToCare est actuellement installé dans plus de 550 laboratoires dans 15 pays d'Afrique et d'Asie, couvrant les tests de diagnostic de 250 000 patients.
Website: https://savics.org/ 

NutriApp: Application from consumers to consumers for a better world
Consorcio Agroecológico Peruano (Pérou); Eclosio (Belgique)
Pays concerné : Pérou
L'application NutriApp est un outil pour le consommateur conçu par la société civile elle-même afin qu'il puisse accéder à des informations compréhensibles concernant la présence de sucre, de graisses saturées et de sodium dans les produits ultra-transformés. À la fin du premier semestre 2020, plus de 100 000 personnes en moyenne connaissaient et/ou utilisaient l'application mobile.
Website: http://consorcioagroecologico.pe/ ; https://www.eclosio.ong/ 

Category 'iStartUp'

First Aid Blended Learning (FABL)
Rode Kruis Vlaanderen (Belgique); Rwanda Red Cross Society (Rwanda)
Pays concerné : Rwanda
Avec First Aid Blended Learning, Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen veut augmenter considérablement le nombre de secouristes en Afrique subsaharienne. Par rapport aux cours de premiers secours traditionnels, FABL est en mesure d'utiliser les mêmes ressources pour tripler le nombre de formations aux premiers secours. Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen (RKV) a traduit ses matériaux de premiers secours dans une application liée à un système de réservation intuitif et associée à une méthodologie spécialement conçue pour la formation en classe.
Website: https://www.rodekruis.be/fr/ 

Open Chain
Iles de Paix (Belgique); TRIAS (Belgique) ; Mviwata-Arusha (Tanzanie)
Pays concerné : Tanzanie
Open Chain est une plateforme ouverte où les informations locales sur les défis sont documentées et accessibles pour ajouter de nouveaux contenus ou les consulter. La plateforme constitue la base pour la consultation des parties prenantes et les activités de réseautage pour collecter ces données et susciter de nouveaux partenariats. De cette manière, Open Chain fournit les informations nécessaires aux décideurs et relie les parties prenantes locales pour une voix et une action collectives.
Website: https://www.ilesdepaix.org/ 


 

Category 'iChoose'

Financial inclusion for Ugandan farmers and entrepreneurs
Trias (Belgique, Ouganda)
Pays concerné : Ouganda
En Ouganda Trias travaille en partenariat avec trois organisations de microfinance basées dans les régions du nord et de l'ouest du pays pour fournir des services financiers adaptés à leurs membres. Ces institutions financières sont appelées coopératives d'épargne et de crédit, ou SACCO en bref, et proposent une variété de produits de prêt adaptés aux réalités des familles d'agriculteurs ruraux et des petits entrepreneurs. Avec ce projet, les partenaires SACCO sont conseillés pour réformer le système bancaire afin que la banque mobile puisse être mise en œuvre. Grâce à cette innovation, les familles d'agriculteurs peuvent gérer le solde de leur compte courant à distance, transférer de l'argent de leur téléphone mobile vers leur compte courant et vice versa, ce qui contribue à amélioration de l'inclusion financière des communautés rurales.
Website: https://www.trias.ngo/en/  

ImpalaEdTech – Parakou 
Impalabridge (Belgique), Guerra Hub (Benin)
Pays concerné : Bénin
ImpalaEdTech Parakou est un projet commun de l'ASBL Belge Impalabridge et de Guerra Hub, un "Digital Innovation Hub" (DIH) béninois.  
Le projet propose des formations et accompagnements pour permettre :
-  aux enseignants béninois d'innover et d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires à un usage efficace des TICE dans leurs pratiques enseignantes ; 
- aux jeunes chercheurs d'emplois de poursuivre le métier d’«éducateurs en technologies» et/ou d'entreprendre dans le domaine des TICE ;   
- aux élèves des écoles primaires et secondaires de développer des habiletés technologiques et d’acquérir des compétences assurant la réussite professionnelle au 21e siècle (Créativité, Esprit Critique, ...).
Website: https://impalabridge.com/ 

Cérémonie de remise des prix

Les lauréats du Prix D4D - Edition 2020 ont reçu leur prix des mains de la Ministre de la Coopération au Développement, Meryame Kitir, sur les recommandations du jury, pendant la cérémonie de remise des prix organisée par le Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale le 15 octobre 2020 (Belgique).

Communiqué de presse (MRAC)

Programme

Liste des participants

Photos (©Kris Pannecoucke)