Edition 2016

Awarded projects

Category 'iStandOut'

E-learning curriculum in Palestinian Primary and Secondary Education
Belgian Technical Cooperation, BTC (Jan De Ceuster, Thierry Foubert), Palestinian Ministry of Education and Higher Education (dr. Basri Salmoodi)
This project introduces the use of ICT in 288 pilot schools in Palestine in order to enhance student-centred learning and allow students to acquire 21st-century skills.
Website: https://www.enabel.be/story/e-learning-palestine
The award was used to organize the “Innovation, ICT and Technology Fair in Education”, which took place on 25, 26 and 27 March 2017 for ± 700 participants. On the first day, 200 selected students presented their projects, which were evaluated the next day by experienced judges – experts and university professors. On the last day, a plenary session took place in the presence of the Minister of Education and Higher Education and the Consul General of Belgium, ending with the award ceremony for the 5 selected projects.

Category 'iStartUp'

Aksantimed
Aksantimed (Mbela Sedi), SOS Médecins  de Nuit (Maneno Riziki), Université Libre de Bruxelles – Phytoconsult H.Y. sprl (Hélène Mavar)
The plague of counterfeit medication has resulted in failed treatments, poisonings, increased resistance to antibiotics, and sometimes even death.  AksantiMed uses the rise of the mobile phone (GSM) and the internet on the African continent to put patients in the difficult task of checking the medication. The patient can use the application Aksantimed to validate the unique 12-digit code printed on a non-transferable label placed on each medication box.
Website: http://aksantimed.com/
Aksantimed received an internship in a Belgian incubator called imec. During this internship Aksantimed was guided in the establishment of their company both in Belgium and in R.D.C. by ACC Team. They received coaching sessions for the further development of their application by means of one-on-one coaching sessions and workshops by experts in the domain of e-Health, e-Commerce and e-Governance and, where necessary, the extensive academic network of imec was called upon to refine the expertise. Co-working spaces were also made available.

 

Category 'iChoose'

Solarly
Solarly (Orban de Xivry Jean-Grégoire, Julien Riat, Maxime Dolberg, David Oren), Better World Cameroon (Koh Crystel )
Energy is the breeding ground for development. Without energy there is no possible growth. Solarly develops a solution in order to make the electricity access easier for rural household in Sub-Saharan Africa.
Website: http://solarly.webflow.io/
 The project used this award to co-finance the pilot phase. The 6 months in the field helped Solarly to better understand the most urgent energy needs, particularly in the education sector. The 40 prototypes were installed which now provide energy to a school and families without access to electricity, but also to an ecovillage that serves as an informative centre.

Other nominated projects

Category 'iStandOut'

Open Clinic
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, VUB (Marc Nyssen, Gustave Karara), Comprehensive Community Based Rehabilitation in Tanzania, CCBRT (Nabila Nazir)
OpenClinic is a open-source, modular software package for hospital management. It is specifically designed to satisfy the needs in countries with limited resources, according to the patient-centric model.
Website: http://openclinic.sourceforge.net/

Digitruck
Close the Gap International VZW (Inge Knapen, Peter Manderick), Affordable Computers and Technology for Tanzania Limited, ACTTL (Robert Mafie)
The Digitruck adds to both the quality and the availability of education in remote off grid areas by being a mobile classroom with high quality IT equipment and digital enabled learning materials.
Website: http://close-the-gap.org/what-we-do/the-digi-truck/

Category 'iStartUp'

Soundiata Payment Gateway
HEC-ULg Entrepreneurs (Louis Manga), Agence de Services Manages, ASM (Ousmane Ndao)
One of the main obstacles to the development of e-commerce in Africa is the lack of reliable and secure online payment solutions. Soundiata wants to reinforce mobile banking to promote safe North-South but also South-South exchanges on the internet.

Geo-Domaines Coopération
IT-International Development (Ghislain Muller, Alain Muller), Ultima Technologies (Claude Bernardini)
Geo-Domains program facilitates tracking plans, areas and various points positioned by GPS without any geographical or territorial restrictions via PC and mobile phone.

Category 'iChoose'

Bosco School Manager
VIA Don Bosco ngo (Sofie De Rijck, Etienne Vandercruysse), Antenne de Développement ADAFO / Afrika, Via Don Bosco (Yao Tsedi)
BOSCO SCHOOL MANAGER is a customized platform for the digitisation of school data and digital data management in West Africa. This system makes it possible for schools to gain a clear insight into their own performance, in addition to monitoring the evolution of their students.
Website: http://www.viadonbosco.org/fr

Let’s talk trash
WorldLoop / Close The Gap, photography / grafic design (Griet Hendrickx), Great Lakes Initiatives for Communities Empowerment, GLICE (Roger Ouedraogo)
The project 'Let's talk trash' focusses on educating and enlighting as many people as possible on the importance of bridging the digital divide while creating sustainable solutions for the challenge of the e-waste cycle in Africa.
Website: http://www.worldloop.org/letstalktrash/

Let's Talk Trash

Innovation fair and Awards ceremony

All three winners received their prizes from Minister Alexander De Croo during the Innovation Fair & Awards Ceremony that were organized by the Royal Museum for Central Africa on November 30, 2016 (Belgium).

Programme

Abstract book

List of registrations

Photos (©Kris Pannecoucke)

Édition 2016

Lauréats

Catégorie 'iStandOut'

E-learning curriculum in Palestinian Primary and Secondary Education
Coopération technique belge, CTB (Jan De Ceuster, Thierry Foubert), Palestinian Ministry of Education and Higher Education (dr. Basri Salmoodi)
Ce projet introduit les technologies de l’information et de la communication dans 288 écoles pilotes en Palestine afin d’améliorer l’apprentissage centré sur l’élève et de permettre aux jeunes d’acquérir des compétences du 21e siècle.
Site web: https://www.enabel.be/fr/story/e-learning-en-palestine
 Le prix a été utilisé pour organiser le “Innovation, ICT and Technology Fair in Education”,  qui s'est tenu les 25, 26 et 27 mars 2017 et a attiré environ 700 participants. Le premier jour, 200 étudiants sélectionnés ont présenté leurs projets, lesquels ont été évalués le lendemain jury expérimenté, composé d’experts et de professeurs d'université. Le dernier jour, une séance plénière a eu lieu en présence du Ministre de l'Education et de l'Enseignement Supérieur et du Consul Général de Belgique, suivie d’une cérémonie de remise des prix pour les 5 projets sélectionnés.

Catégorie 'iStartUp'

Aksantimed
Aksantimed (Mbela Sedi), SOS Médecins  de Nuit (Maneno Riziki), Université Libre de Bruxelles – Phytoconsult H.Y. sprl (Hélène Mavar)
Le fléau des faux médicaments occasionne des nombreux échecs thérapeutiques, des empoisonnements, des résistances aux antibiotiques et parfois des décès. AksantiMed profite de l'émergence du téléphone mobile (GSM) et de l'Internet sur le continent africain, pour remettre le patient au centre de la difficile tâche du contrôle du médicament. Pour ce faire, le patient grâce à son Gsm ou via l'Apps Aksantimed, a la possibilité de valider le code à douze chiffres uniques inscrits sur une étiquette intransférable apposée sur chaque boite de médicament et cela via SMS ou via l'Apps AksantiMed.
Site web: http://aksantimed.com/
Aksantimed a gagné un stage au sein d’un incubateur belge appelé imec. Au cours de ce stage, Aksantimed a été accompagné dans la constitution de sa société tant en Belgique qu'en R.D.C. par ACC team. Les membres de Aksantimed ont participé à des sessions de coaching pour le développement de leur application au moyen de séances de coaching individuelles et d'ateliers d'experts dans le domaine de e-Health, e-Commerce and e-Governance et, si nécessaire, l’accès au vaste réseau académique d'imec pour affiner l'expertise. Des espaces de co-working étaient également à leur disposition.

Catégorie 'iChoose'

Solarly
Solarly (Orban de Xivry Jean-Grégoire, Julien Riat, Maxime Dolberg, David Oren), Better World Cameroon (Koh Crystel )
L'énergie est le terreau du développement, sans énergie, il n'y a pas de développement  possible. Solarly développe une solution qui facilite l’accès à l’électricité destinée aux ménages vivant en milieu rural en Afrique Subsaharienne.
Site web: http://solarly.webflow.io/french
Le prix a été utilisé pour co-financier la phase pilote. Les 6 mois passés sur le terrain ont permis de mieux comprendre les besoins énergétiques les plus urgents et particulièrement dans le secteur de l’enseignement. Les 40 prototypes ont été installés et procurent de l’énergie à une école et des familles sans accès à l’électricité, mais aussi à un éco village qui sert également de centre de formation.

Autres nominés

Catégorie 'iStandOut'

Open Clinic
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, VUB (Marc Nyssen, Gustave Karara), Comprehensive Community Based Rehabilitation in Tanzania, CCBRT (Nabila Nazir)
OpenClinic est un logiciel modulaire et source ouverte de gestion hospitalière spécifiquement conçu pour satisfaire aux besoins de pays à faibles ressources et basé sur le dossier centré patient.
Site web: http://openclinic.sourceforge.net/

Digitruck
Close the Gap International VZW (Inge Knapen, Peter Manderick), Affordable Computers and Technology for Tanzania Limited, ACTTL (Robert Mafie)
Le Digitruck est une salle de classe mobile avec des équipements informatiques de haute qualité et du matériel didactique numérique. Ceci se rajoute à la qualité et à la disponibilité de l'éducation dans les zones éloignées qui n'ont pas accès au réseau électrique.
Site web : http://close-the-gap.org/what-we-do/the-digi-truck/

Catégorie 'iStartUp'

Soundiata Payment Gateway
HEC-ULg Entrepreneurs (Louis Manga), Agence de Services Manages, ASM (Ousmane Ndao)
L’un des obstacles majeurs au développement du e-commerce en Afrique est le manque de solutions de paiement en ligne fiables et sécurisées. Soundiata souhaite appuyer sur l’essor du mobile banking pour encourager les échanges sur internet Nord-Sud mais également Sud-Sud en toute sécurité.

Geo-Domaines Coopération
IT-International Development (Ghislain Muller, Alain Muller), Ultima Technologies (Claude Bernardini)
Le programme "Geo-Domaines ®" pour PC et mobiles permet de facilement relever et tracer les plans, zones, et points divers relevés sur le terrain et positionnés par GPS, sans restriction géographique ou territoriale.

Catégorie 'iChoose'

Bosco School Manager
VIA Don Bosco ngo (Sofie De Rijck, Etienne Vandercruysse), Antenne de Développement ADAFO / Afrika, Via Don Bosco (Yao Tsedi)
Le Bosco School Manager est une plateforme concernant la digitalisation des données scolaires et le gestion de données scolaires digitalisé en Afrique de l’Ouest.  Ce système permet aux écoles d'avoir un aperçu clair sur leurs propres prestations et de suivre leur évolution.
Site web: http://www.viadonbosco.org/fr

Let’s talk trash
WorldLoop / Close The Gap, photographe / graphiste (Griet Hendrickx), Great Lakes Initiatives for Communities Empowerment, GLICE (Roger Ouedraogo)
Le projet 'Let’s talk trash' est axé sur éduquer et sensibiliser autant de personnes que possible sur l'importance de combler le fossé numérique tout en créant des solutions durables pour relever le défi du cycle des déchets électroniques en Afrique.
Site web: http://www.worldloop.org/letstalktrash/
Let's Talk Trash

Salon des Innovations et Cérémonie de Remise des Prix

Les trois lauréats ont reçu leur prix des mains du Ministre Alexander De Croo lors du Salon des Innovations & la Cérémonie de Remise des Prix organisés le 30 novembre 2016 par le Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale (Belgique).

Programme

Livre des résumés

Liste des inscrits

Photos (©Kris Pannecoucke)