Edition 2022

Nominated projects

Category iStandOut

Digital Data Collection for Better Impact in Burundi and DRC: a Success Story to Digitalize Household Surveys
SOS Children's Villages Belgium; SOS Children's Villages Burundi; SOS Children's Villages DRC 
About the project: 
Children who have lost or are at risk of losing their parents' care remain largely invisible in the statistics at the global level and have long been off the radar of the SDG indicators. SOS Children's Villages International started in 2011 to fill this gap. To this end, it created Programme Database 2 (PDB2), a user-friendly web application, designed as a tool to facilitate the effective management of SOS Children’s Villages’ programmes. Its main objective is to store and process meaningful information about the children, young people and their families of programmes provided by SOS Children’s Villages. In December 2019 SOS Children’s Villages in Burundi and SOS Children’s Villages in DR Congo introduced digitalisation at the data collection stage to improve data quality, data analysis and impact measurement. 
https://www.sos-childrensvillages.org/  

Projet de Digitalisation de l'Agriculture en Milieu Paysan au Mali 
Réseau Agri Vision Sahel (AVS); Enabel Mali
About the project:
The project is led by a consortium of two Malian digital startups run by women, AgriBox and BI MUSSO, and the sub-regional network Agri Vision Sahel (AVS). This consortium proposes digital solutions and applications to improve the flow of goods to growth markets and the yield of agricultural production at lower cost through digital services adapted to the socio-economic realities of farmers and women processors.
https://agrivisionsahel.org/ 

The TTE Sandbox 
Enabel Uganda
About the project: 
The challenges presented by the coronavirus disease call for a new way of delivering education. Enabel responded by supporting Uganda’s Ministry of Education and Sports to develop and implement a distance learning strategy called the “Sandbox”. It is being piloted in the country’s 5 National Teachers Colleges in order to learn lessons for Uganda’s entire education sector. The sandbox steps away from traditional teaching methods and embraces the use of technology. The innovation offers a testing environment for education technology (EdTech), making full use of the potential of teachers to respond to the current education crisis by introducing various ICT tools and practices that facilitate and enhance distance learning during and post Covid-19.
https://www.enabel.be/ 

Category iStartUp

Citizens and Machine Learning to End Snail-Borne Diseases
Royal Museum for Central Africa; Mbarara University of Science and Technology; Université de Kinshasa; KULeuven
About the project: 
In 2014, the World Health Organization (WHO) highlighted vector-borne diseases as a global public health priority. Among these, schistosomiasis ranks second only to malaria in terms of prevalence and morbidity. The WHO recommends combining drug treatment with snail control to combat this disease, but this requires broad-scale and regular monitoring of snail populations. However, there is a lack of snail experts in Africa and beyond, and monitoring campaigns are expensive. In the ATRAP project we therefore adopted a novel (digital) citizen science approach that can be executed by non-specialists. Deep learning object detection is thereby used for real-time snail identification. The model, with a detection accuracy of 97%, is deployed as an open-access web application. This tool, and the snail distribution maps can be online consulted by local health centers and ministries to implement preventive measures including targeted snail control.
https://www.citizenscienceuganda.info/  

Halisi: Trusted Biometrics as a Service for Animals
Fit-For-Purpose Technologies
About the project: 
Halisi is a biometric system which, from a simple photo or video, makes it possible to obtain key biometric indicators to assess the well-being of a cow, and therefore to take the necessary actions directly influencing its well-being level  and consequently its milk production. The Artificial Intelligence driven solution captures, extracts and analyzes physical, psychological and behavioral components. The system has the advantage of being non-invasive, that it can be embedded in fixed devices (e.g. fixed camera) for continuous evaluation, is inexpensive and easy to use and does not always requires internet coverage. 
https://fitforpurpose.tech/ 

Scratc²h 2050: Supporting Coding among Rwandan Adolescents & Teachers through the Curriculum & Clubs Heading for Rwanda 2050
VVOB; Rwanda Basic Education Board; Rwanda Coding Academy; Rwanda TVET Board; Rwandan Association for Women in Science and Engineering; Wehubit 
About the project:
In the framework of Scratc²h 2050, learners are introduced to coding principles in the classroom as STEM and ICT teachers integrate Scratch in STEM and ICT courses. The coding clubs, next, provide the opportunity to truly develop digital skills in an enjoyable environment, combining fun with learning the language of generation Z: the programming language. To this end, VVOB trains secondary school STEM and ICT teachers on coding and its benefits through blended learning. After training, they continue to develop professionally through participation in ongoing online and biannual face-to-face ScratchEd Meetups.
https://rwanda.vvob.org/ 

Category iChoose

AfriTech Hub Immersive Bootcamp 
AfriTech Hub 
About the project: 

 
https://afritechh.com/

Sustainability-As-A-Service Protocol 
Pello Múgica Gonzalez
About the project:
Enhanced Decentralized Fundraising Model
FACTmobile - A mobile application for the FACT Sahel+ network 
Fact Sahel + ; Archisanat
About the project: 
https://www.factsahelplus.com/ 

 

Awards ceremony

The awards ceremony will take place in the Royal Museum for Central Africa in the autumn of 2022.

Édition 2022

Projets nominés

Category iStandOut

Digital Data Collection for Better Impact in Burundi and DRC: a Success Story to Digitalize Household Surveys
SOS Children's Villages Belgium; SOS Children's Villages Burundi; SOS Children's Villages DRC 
À propos du projet:
Les enfants qui ont perdu ou risquent de perdre la garde de leurs parents restent largement invisibles dans les statistiques au niveau mondial et ont longtemps été hors du radar des indicateurs des ODD. SOS Children's Villages International a commencé en 2011 à combler cette lacune. À cette fin, elle a créé Programme Database 2 (PDB2), une application web conviviale, conçue comme un outil pour faciliter la gestion efficace des programmes de SOS Villages d'Enfants. Son principal objectif est de stocker et de traiter des informations significatives sur les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles des programmes fournis par SOS Villages d'Enfants. En décembre 2019 SOS Villages d'Enfants au Burundi et SOS Villages d'Enfants en RD Congo ont introduit la numérisation au stade de la collecte des données pour améliorer la qualité des données, leur analyse et la mesure de leur impact. 
https://www.sos-childrensvillages.org/  

Projet de Digitalisation de l'Agriculture en Milieu Paysan au Mali
Réseau Agri Vision Sahel (AVS); Enabel Mali
À propos du projet:
Le projet est porté par un consortium composé de deux startups digitales maliennes animées par des femmes (AgriBox et BI MUSSO) et par le Réseau sous-régional Agri Vision Sahel (AVS). Ce consortium propose des solutions et applications digitales pour améliorer l'écoulement vers les marchés porteurs et le rendement de la production agricole à moindre coût à travers des services numériques adaptés aux réalités socio-économiques des agriculteurs et femmes transformatrices.
https://agrivisionsahel.org/ 

The TTE Sandbox
Enabel Uganda
À propos du projet:
Face aux défis posés par le coronavirus, un nouveau modèle éducationnel s’impose. Enabel a réagi en aidant le ministère ougandais de l’Éducation et des Sports à développer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie d’enseignement à distance intitulée « Sandbox ». Pilotée dans les 5 National Teachers Colleges du pays dans le souci d’en tirer des leçons pour l’ensemble du secteur éducatif en Ouganda, la stratégie Sandbox s’éloigne des méthodes d’enseignement traditionnelles en misant sur la technologie. Ce modèle innovant offre un environnement de test pour les technologies de l’éducation (EdTech) et utilise pleinement le potentiel des enseignants et enseignantes pour répondre à la crise actuelle de l’éducation en introduisant divers outils et pratiques TIC qui facilitent et améliorent l’enseignement à distance, et ce, tant pendant qu’après le Covid-19.
https://www.enabel.be/ 

Category iStartUp

Citizens and Machine Learning to End Snail-Borne Diseases
Royal Museum for Central Africa; Mbarara University of Science and Technology; Université de Kinshasa; KULeuven
À propos du projet:
En 2014, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a mis en avant les maladies à transmission vectorielle comme une priorité de santé publique mondiale. Parmi celles-ci, la schistosomiase occupe la deuxième place après la malaria en termes de prévalence et de morbidité. L'OMS recommande de combiner traitement médicamenteux et lutte contre les mollusques pour combattre cette maladie, mais cela nécessite un suivi régulier et à grande échelle des populations de mollusques. Or, les experts en mollusques manquent en Afrique et ailleurs, et les campagnes de surveillance sont coûteuses. Le projet ATRAP a adopté une nouvelle approche de science citoyenne (numérique) qui peut être exécutée par des non-spécialistes. La détection d'objets par apprentissage profond est ainsi utilisée pour l'identification des mollusques en temps réel. Le modèle, dont la précision de détection est de 97 %, est déployé sous la forme d'une application web en libre accès. Cet outil, ainsi que les cartes de distribution des mollusques, peuvent être consultés en ligne par les centres de santé et les ministères locaux pour mettre en œuvre des mesures préventives, notamment une lutte ciblée contre les mollusques
https://www.citizenscienceuganda.info/  

Halisi: Trusted Biometrics as a Service for Animals
Fit-For-Purpose Technologies
À propos du projet:
Halisi est un système biométrique qui, à partir d'une simple photo ou vidéo, permet d'obtenir des indicateurs biométriques clés pour évaluer le bien-être d'une vache, et donc de prendre les mesures nécessaires influençant directement son niveau de bien-être et par conséquent sa production de lait. Cette solution basée sur l'intelligence artificielle capture, extrait et analyse les composantes physiques, psychologiques et comportementales. Ce système innovant présente l'avantage d'être non invasif, de pouvoir être intégré dans des dispositifs fixes (par exemple une caméra fixe) pour une évaluation continue, d'être peu coûteux, d'être facile à utiliser et surtout de ne pas toujours nécessiter une couverture internet.
https://fitforpurpose.tech/ 

Scratc²h 2050: Supporting Coding among Rwandan Adolescents & Teachers through the Curriculum & Clubs Heading for Rwanda 2050
VVOB; Rwanda Basic Education Board; Rwanda Coding Academy; Rwanda TVET Board; Rwandan Association for Women in Science and Engineering; Wehubit 
À propos du projet:
Dans le cadre de Scratc²h 2050, les apprenants seront initiés aux principes du codage en classe, à mesure que les professeurs de STEM et de TIC intégreront Scratch dans les cours de STEM et de TIC. Les clubs de codage, ensuite, seront l'occasion de développer véritablement des compétences numériques dans un environnement agréable, en combinant plaisir et apprentissage du langage de la génération Z : le langage de programmation. À cette fin, la VVOB formera les professeurs de STEM et de TIC des écoles secondaires au codage et à ses avantages par le biais de l'apprentissage mixte. Après la formation, ils continueront à se développer professionnellement en participant à des réunions ScratchEd en ligne et en face à face deux fois par an.
https://rwanda.vvob.org/ 

Category iChoose

Vous avez jusqu’au 1er septembre 2022 pour voter pour votre idée innovante, bonne pratique ou projet favori. Découvrez les projets en compétition pour le prix iChoose 2022 et votez pour votre projet favori. 

 

Awards ceremony

Le Prix D4D sera remis au cours d’une cérémonie qui se déroulera au Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale à l’automne 2022.