Entry rules

Article 1

The Prize D4D rewards initiatives that significantly contribute to the digital development in the South. These initiatives exploit the potential of (new) technologies in terms of sustainable development.

The prize is awarded in three categories:

Category 1: Innovative idea / startup - ‘iStartUp’

This category covers an innovative project idea or startup on ‘Digital for Development’.

Applicants need to provide a video pitch illustrating the project idea or startup in a maximum of 3 minutes based on the following questions:

1) To what extent does the ‘iStartUp’ contribute to sustainable development in the South?

2) Can you describe the ‘iStartUp’ as being innovatory and original? Does the innovative nature of the ‘iStartUp’ surpass the traditional and classic development methods in this field?

3) Will the ‘iStartUp’ lead towards a significant impact both on a local and/or global scale? Will the ‘iStartUp’ lift the concept ‘Digital for Development’ to higher standards and create broader support?

4) Does the ‘iStartUp’ take into account the concept 'digital inclusion'?

A clear link with a partner in the South is not obligatory upon submission but will need to be imbedded in the further development of the 'iStartUp'.

Category 2: Success story - ‘iStandOut’

Eligible success stories are initiatives that  have  already been proven; the best practices. They bear the mark of success in terms of innovations that succesfully deploy digitisation as a lever towards sustainable development and demonstrate a strong vision for future cooperation between the countries concerned.

A clear link with a partner in the South is required.

Category 3: The public award- ‘iChoose’

In the category 'iChoose', applications are submitted in the form of audio-visual or graphic material which shows the theme 'Digital for Development' in an attractive way on the field. The application must be a visual representation of an innovative idea, project or activity on digitisation for development.

A clear link with a partner in the South is required.

Article 2

Everyone with a convincing project or innovative idea on 'Digital for Development' can participate. With the exception of the geographical specifications (see Article 3), no target groups are defined. Prize D4D seeks to reward applications on digitisation for development regardless of the individuals, teams or organisations behind the work. Applications can be submitted by individuals or teams who are for example part of a university, university college, research institution, non-governmental organisation (NGO), private institution, Public-Private Partnership (PPP), Citizen Initiative, etc.

Applications must be recent and should not outdate the announcement of the current edition of the prize by more than three years.

Applicants must be Belgians (incl. EU nationals or people with a right to a permanent residence in Belgium) or from a Belgian development cooperation partner country (see Article 3 for list of countries), hereinafter referred to as ‘partner country’, who are active in the field of ‘Digital for Development’.

A clear link with Belgium is necessary.

Article 3

List of ‘Belgian development cooperation partner countries’:

Benin

Bolivia

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Cuba

DR Congo

Ecuador

Ethiopia

Guatemala

Guinea

Haiti

Indonesia

Kenya

Madagascar

Mali

Morocco

Mozambique

Nicaragua

Niger

Palestine

Peru

Philippines

Rwanda

Senegal

South Africa

Tanzania

Uganda

Vietnam

Zimbabwe

 

Article 4

Prize D4D nominates max. 9 applications and 3 winners will receive the following prizes:

  • 1 winner in the category ‘iStartUp’:  an internship in a Belgian incubator to the value of 25.000 euro
  • 1 winner in the category ‘iStandOut’: a credit line of 10.000 euro to be used for (research)activities towards further development of a career (participation in conferences, training courses, etc.)
  • 1 winner in the category ‘iChoose’: a cash prize of 5.000 euro

The remaining six nominees will receive a certificate. In addition, they can count on feedback from the jury upon request.

Depending on the quantity and quality of the applications, the above distribution of nominees and winners may be departed from.

Article 5

Applicants will be assessed on the basis of applications in Dutch, French or English.

The application must date from 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017.

A registration form may only be submitted in one category. In the event of multiple applications for the same person, team, company or organisation, each application must be registered separately.

Applicants may receive multiple awards under the Prize Digital for Development. For example, a winner in the category ‘iStandOut’ may also compete the category ‘iChoose’.

Article 6

Regarding the applications in the categories 'iStartUp' and 'iStandOut', the evaluation is done in two phases. In the first phase of the evaluation each application is assessed by two reviewers with expertise in the relevant thematic field. These reviewers will appoint scores based on the predetermined evaluation criteria. If the scores differ significantly, a third opinion is addressed.

In a second phase of the evaluation a list of nominees is prepared by the jury based on the scores granted by the reviewers (the first phase). The nominees for the categories 'iStandOut' and 'iStartUp' are invited to present their application to the jury. The jury will then appoint a winner for each category ('iStartUp' and 'iStandOut').

The nominees and the winner of the public award 'iChoose' is chosen by the public. By means of the online voting system, any member of the public can cast a vote once, anonymously, for one of more of their favourite applications.

The decisions of the jury are sovereign and final.

Legal action against the decisions of the jury is not possible.

Article 7

Applicants must upload the necessary documents online.

The registration form varies per category ('iStartUp', 'iStandOut', 'iChoose'). It is very important that the form is completed in an accurate manner for further evaluation by the jury.

If the submission is a product or an application, the applicants must provide full documentation on the content and operation of the product or application.

Applicants for the category ‘iStandOut’ are requested to send a printed version of their work in duplicate to the contact address of the Royal Museum for Central Africa the latest by the closing date of the call.

Closing of the call for applications is February 1, 2018.

Article 8

Postal address:

Royal Museum for Central Africa

Prize Digital for Development

Leuvensesteenweg 13

B-3080 Tervuren

Belgium

For more information:

Tel. ++32 (0)2 769 57 34

Fax ++32 (0)2 769 54 32

Email: prized4d@africamuseum.be

http://prized4d.africamuseum.be

Article 9

Applicants for the D4D Prize are deemed to have accepted the rules of the D4D Prize as set out in these entry rules.

Applications must be free of offensive content and consistent with the human rights according to the UN Declaration of Human Rights.

Applications that are found to be (partially) plagiarised will be disqualified.

Applications that are incomplete or fail to satisfy the guidelines of the Prize D4D will be withdrawn from the selection procedure without prior notice. Legal action against the decision of disqualification for the above reasons is not possible.

Article 10

By participating in the Prize D4D, the applicant grants the RMCA the exploitation rights for the submitted audio-visual/graphic material, photographs and other content for non-commercial use, in particular promotion, printing, events and media.

Applicants must hold copyright to all photographs and audio-visual material related to the production of the submitted work. The software used must be licensed.

Article 11

The applicants’ personal data will be handled in accordance to the Privacy Act. On the basis of the Privacy Act (Act of 8 December 1992 on the protection of privacy in relation to the processing of personal data) it is ensured that personal data are used and protected with due care, so that citizens' privacy remains safeguarded. The rights and obligations of the individuals whose data are processed, as well as the rights and obligations of those processing the data have been established by the Privacy Act.

Article 12

The prize D4D will be announced via a dedicated website (http://prizeD4D.africamuseum.be), via RMCA’s social media channels (Facebook and Twitter), via the DGD website (http://diplomatie.belgium.be/nl/Beleid/Ontwikkelingssamenwerking/) and via posters in Belgium and in the partner countries.

Article 13

The award ceremony of the Prize D4D will take place in the Royal Museum for Central Africa in the autumn of 2018.

Article 14

Applicants will not automatically receive an acknowledgment of receipt, but they may be sent one upon request.

Règlement

Article 1

Le prix  D4D récompense des initiatives numériques qui apportent une importante contribution au développement numérique du Sud, en utilisant le potentiel des (nouvelles) technologies d’une manière novatrice au service des objectifs de développement durable.

Le prix comporte 3 catégories :

Catégorie 1: L’idée innovante / start-up - ‘iStartUp’ 

Cette catégorie inclut une idée innovante /startup dans le domaine de la digitalisation pour le développement. Les participants envoyent un pitch vidéo d'une durée maximum de 3 minutes dans lequel l’idée innovante /startup est expliquée sur la base des questions d'orientation suivantes :

1) Est-ce que le ‘iStartUp’ contribue à un développement durable au Sud ?
2) Le ‘iStartUp’ est-il innovant et original ? Est-ce que l’innovation digitale mise en œuvre dans le projet va au-delà des méthodes de développement traditionnelles et classiques dans le domaine concerné ?
3) À terme, l’idée de projet générera-t-elle un impact au niveau local et/ou global et contribuera-t-il à un environnement plus porteur pour la digitalisation pour le développement ?
4) Le ‘iStartUp’, s'adresse-t-il au concept de l'inclusion numérique?

Un lien précis avec un pays partenaire du Sud n’est pas nécessaire au stade de la demande, mais sera vu requis dans les phases ultérieures.

Catégorie 2: La bonne pratique - ‘iStandOut’

Les bonnes pratiques sont des initiatives qui ont fait leurs preuves. Elles portent la marque du succès en termes d’innovations ayant utilisé la digitalisation avec fruit comme un levier pour le développement durable et témoignent d’une vision forte de la collaboration future entre les pays partenaires concernés.

Un lien précis avec un pays partenaire du Sud est nécessaire au stade de la demande.

Catégorie 3: Le prix du public - ‘iChoose’

Dans cette catégorie, les participants peuvent exposer leur projet sous la forme de matériel audiovisuel (max. 5 minutes) ou graphique (affiche, flyer, infographies, etc.) illustrant concrètement la thématique de la « digitalisation pour le développement » d’une manière attrayante dans la pratique. Les soumissions sont des représentations visuelles d'une idée, d'un projet innovant ou d'une activité dans le domaine de la digitalisation pour le développement.

Article 2

Le prix D4D s'adresse à toute personne ayant un projet convaincant ou une idée innovante sur la digitalisation pour le développement. À l'exception des spécifications géographiques (voir art. 3), le prix ne définit pas de groupes cibles.

Le Prix D4D vise à récompenser les soumissions qui apportent une importante contribution au développement numérique du Sud indépendamment des personnes, des équipes ou des organisations à l'origine du travail. Les œuvres peuvent être présentées par des particuliers ou des équipes qui font par exemple partie d'une université, une école supérieure ou une institution de recherche, une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG), le secteur privé, un partenariat public-privé (PPP), une initiative du Quatrième Pilier, etc.

Les participants sont belges (ou sont ressortissants de l’UE ou jouissent en Belgique d’un droit de séjour illimité) ou sont originaires de l’un des pays partenaires de la Coopération belge au développement (voir liste art. 3), dénommés ci-après « pays partenaires », et actifs dans la digitalisation pour le développement.

Toutes les participants doivent présenter un travail récent (max. dans les 3 ans qui précèdent la publication de l’édition du prix) ou définir une idée de projet innovante.

Un lien évident avec la Belgique est indispensable.

Article 3

Un « pays partenaire de la Coopération au développement » est soit l’un des 14 pays partenaires de la Coopération au développement du gouvernement belge, soit l’un des 17 pays avec lesquels la Belgique entretient des liens de coopération universitaire institutionnelle.

Liste des pays partenaires de la Coopération belge au développement:

a) les pays partenaires de la Coopération belge au développement gouvernementale

Bénin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Guinée, Mali, Maroc, Mozambique, Niger, Palestine, Rwanda, Republique démocratique du Congo, Sénégal, Tanzanie, Ouganda

b) les autres pays ayant des accords de coopération universitaire institutionnelle avec la Belgique

Bolivie, Cambodge, Cuba, Équateur, Éthiopie, Philippines, Guatemala, Haïti, Indonésie, Cameroun, Kénia, Madagascar, Nicaragua, 

Pérou, Vietnam, Zimbabwe, Afrique du Sud

Article 4

Le prix D4D retient au maximum 9 candidatures dont max. 3 lauréats recevront un prix.

• 1 lauréat dans la catégorie ‘iStartUp’ pour un stage au sein d’un incubateur d’entreprises d´une valeur de 25.000 euros

 • 1 lauréat dans la catégorie ‘iStandOut’ pour une ligne de crédit de 10.000 euros à utiliser pour la poursuite des activités (de recherche) et le développement de carrière (participation à des congrès, à des formations, etc.)

 • 1 lauréat dans la catégorie ‘iChoose’ pour un prix de 5.000 euros

Les 6 nominés non gagnants reçoivent un certificat et la possibilité d’accroître la visibilité de leur travail.

Il peut être dérogé à cette répartition selon la quantité et la qualité des participants.

Article 5

Les participants sont évalués sur base d’un travail rédigé en français, en néerlandais ou en anglais.

Les travaux introduits doivent avoir été réalisés en 2013, 2014, 2015 ou 2016.

Un dossier ne peut être présenté que pour une catégorie. Dans le cas où une même personne, une même équipe, une même entreprise ou une même organisation introduit plusieurs travaux, chaque soumission doit être enregistrée séparément.

Les participants peuvent être plusieurs fois lauréats. Un lauréat de la catégorie 'iStandOut' peut par exemple avoir également concouru pour le prix de la catégorie 'iStartUp', mais pour des travaux différents.

Article 6

L'évaluation des catégories 'iStartUp' et 'iStandOut'  se fait en deux phases. Dans la première phase de l'évaluation, le projet sera évalué par deux lecteurs ayant une expertise dans le domaine concerné. Les lecteurs lui attribuent une note sur base des critères établis. Si les deux appréciations sont très divergentes, il est fait appel à un troisième avis.

Dans une deuxième phase de l'évaluation, le jury établit la liste des participants nominés sur la base des points accordés par les lecteurs (la première phase). Les nominés pour la catégorie 'iStandOut' et 'iStartUp' sont invités pour une présentation devant le jury.  Ensuite, le jury désignera un gagnant pour chaque catégorie 'iStandOut' et 'iStartUp'.

Concernant le prix du public ‘iChoose’, le lauréat est désigné par le vote en ligne du public. À l’aide du système de vote en ligne, toute personne peut donner sa voix, une seule fois et dans l’anonymat pour une ou plusieurs projets. Le projet avec le plus de votes en ligne sera le gagnant.

Les décisions prises par le jury sont souveraines et sans appel.

Il n’est pas possible d’intenter des actions en justice contre la décision du jury.

Article 7

Les participants doivent télécharger les documents nécessaires en ligne.

Le formulaire d'inscription varie selon la catégorie 'iStandOut' / 'iStartUp' /  'iChoose': Il est très important que le formulaire soit rempli de façon soigneuse et complète.

Si le project porte sur un produit ou une application, les participants fournissent une documentation complète sur le contenu et le fonctionnement du produit ou de l’application.

Dans le cas d’un envoi pour la catégorie ‘iStandOut’, les participants sont priés d’envoyer une version papier, en double exemplaire, à l’adresse postale du Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale précisée à l’art. 8 au plus tard à la date limite d'introduction des dossiers.

La date limite d’introduction des dossiers est prolongée du jeudi 30 juin 2016 jusqu'au 14 juillet 2016.

Article 8

Adresse postale :
Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale
Prix Digitalisation pour le Développement
Leuvensesteenweg 13
3080 Tervuren - Belgique

Pour plus d’informations :
Tel. ++32 (0)2 769 57 34
Fax ++32 (0)2 769 54 32
E-mail: prized4d@africamuseum.be
http://prized4d.africamuseum.be

Article 9

La participation au prix D4D suppose que le participant est d’accord avec les règles du prix D4D telles qu’énoncées dans le présent règlement.
Chaque projets introduit doit être exempt de contenu susceptible de faire l’objet de scandale et doit s’inscrire dans la ligne du respect des droits fondamentaux tels que définis par les Nations unies dans la Déclaration universelle des Droits de l’homme.

Les projets introduits qui semblent être (partiellement) des plagiats, sont disqualifiés.

Les projets introduits incomplets ou ne satisfaisant pas aux directives du prix D4D sont retirés de la procédure de sélection sans notification préalable. Il n’est pas possible d’entamer des actions en justice contre une décision de disqualification évoquant les raisons énoncées ci-dessus.

Article 10

En cas de participation au prix D4D, le participant garantit au MRAC les droits d’exploitation pour le matériel audiovisuel / graphique, les photos et tout autre contenu pour utilisation non commerciale, plus précisément la promotion, l’impression, les événements et les médias.

Les participants détiennent les droits d'auteur pour tout le matériel photographique et audio relatif à la production du travail présenté. Les logiciels utilisés sont couverts par une licence.

Article 11

Les données personnelles des participants seront traitées conformément à la Loi du respect de la vie privée. En vertu de la Loi sur la vie privée (Loi du 8 décembre 1992,) les données à caractère personnel soient utilisées dans le respect de la loi vie privée, avec le soin et les précautions qui s'imposent, de manière à préserver la vie privée des citoyens. Cette loi définit non seulement les droits et devoirs de la personne dont les données sont traitées mais aussi ceux qui utilisent ces données.

Article 12

Le prix est publié via son propre site (http://prized4d.africamuseum.be), les médias sociaux (Facebook et Twitter) du MRAC et le site web de la DGD (http://diplomatie.belgium.be/nl/Beleid/Ontwikkelingssamenwerking), ainsi que par la diffusion d'affiches en Belgique et dans les pays partenaires.

Article 13

Le Prix de la Digitalisation pour le développement sera remis au cours d’une cérémonie qui se déroulera dans le Palais des Colonies au Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale à l’automne 2016.

Article 14

Les participants ne reçoivent pas automatiquement un accusé de réception, mais ils peuvent en faire la demande.